
#1: GAME SETUP


Shuffle all the cards together to form the deck. Set out the Forest, which is the game board. All 
players start the game with 4 cards from the deck, and a colored piece (which should be random). 
Put each player’s piece in a random corner of the board; players should not start on the same spot.




————————————————————————————————————————


#2: DECK & DISCARD PILE


During setup, all the cards are shuffled to form the deck. When you draw a card, either at the start 
of the game, at the end of your turn, or when an Explorer gives you +Draw, you take the deck’s top 
1 card and put it into your hand. You can have any number of cards in your hand, and the number of 
cards you have in hand is public information.


The discard pile is empty at the start of the game. When you discard a card, you put it into the 
discard pile.  You may look through the discard pile at any time, which means that all discarded 
cards are public. There is no need to keep the discard pile in a specific order.


If you have to draw cards from the deck, but the deck doesn’t have enough cards, first shuffle the 
discard pile and put it under the deck, then continue. If there aren’t any cards in the deck, the 
discard pile simply becomes the new deck.


————————————————————————————————————————
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#3: YOUR TURN


Players take turns. During your turn, you do this in the following order:


1. You may play Explorers from your hand.

2. You may play Paths from your hand.

3. You may move yourself in the Forest.

4. Draw a card. If you didn’t play any cards, and you didn’t move at all, draw another card.


At the end of your turn, if you are at your ending spot (which is the direct opposite corner of the 
Forest that you started with; for example, if you started at the top left corner of the Forest, you’re 
aiming for the bottom right corner), you win the game. Otherwise, the player to your left takes their 
turn.


————————————————————————————————————————


#4: PLAYING EXPLORERS


During your turn, you have +2 Plays. You spend these Plays to play both Explorers and Paths. First 
during your turn, you can play any number of Explorers from your hand, provided you have the 
+Plays for them. You do not need to play any Explorers; you can keep them in your hand for a 
future turn.


When you play an Explorer, you put it in front of you, and you do its instructions. If you cannot do 
everything a card tells you to do, you do as much as you can; you can still play a card even if you 
know you will not be able to do everything it tells you to. The Explorer stays in front of you until 
your Camping phase, where it will be discarded.


Some Explorers give +Plays. This increases the number of cards that you can play this turn. You do 
not need to spend all your +Plays. +1 Play just adds to the number of cards you can play this turn; 
you finish resolving the current Explorer before you play any more cards. Extra +Plays do not carry 
over to your next turn.


————————————————————————————————————————


#5: PLAYING PATHS


After playing Explorers, you can play any number of Explorers from your hand, provided you have 
the +Plays for them. If you already spent all your +Plays on Explorers, you cannot play any Paths 
this turn. You do not need to play any Paths; you can keep them in your hand for a future turn.


When you play a Path, you put it on any of the slots Forest in any orientation. If the slot you put it 
on is blank, you just put it there. If the slot already has a Path on it, you discard the old Path and 
then put the new one in that spot.


You can play Paths on top of players. When a player’s Path gets changed in some way (replaced, 
rotated, etc.), the players on it move onto that Path’s arrowhead.
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The Forest comes pre-drawn with River slots with X’s on them. You cannot play Paths on them, you 
cannot move onto them, and Explorers cannot interact with them.


————————————————————————————————————————


#6: MOVEMENT


During your turn, you have +2 Move. You spend these +Moves when moving during your turn. To 
use a Move, look at your Path’s arrow; if that Path is pointing directly to another Path’s blue dot, 
you move your piece onto that Path. If your arrowhead is pointing to a Path, but not its blue dot, or 
it is pointing to a River, you just stop.


Moving is always optional; you may stop on any arrowhead you come across. If a Path has multiple 
blue dots on it, you can move onto it in different ways, but you can’t turn around and go backwards.


Some Explorers give +Moves. This increases the number of times that you can move this turn. You 
do not need to spend all your +Moves. +1 Move just adds to the number of times you can move this 
turn; you finish playing all cards you want before you can move. Extra +Moves do not carry over to 
your next turn.


————————————————————————————————————————


#7: EXPLORER FAQ


Adventurer: Playing Paths with this doesn’t use any +Plays.


Archer: For example, if another player has 7 cards in hand, they discard 3 of them, and if another 
player has 3 cards in hand, they discard 1 card.


Cartographer: You may either rotate the Path you’re currently on, or rotate a Path that you’re 
adjacent to. Rotating is optional. A Path is adjacent to another Path if it is directly above, below, to 
the left, or to the right of that Path. Diagonal spaces are not adjacent. If you choose a blank spot as 
your adjacent Path, or a River, nothing happens.


Page  of 3 5

This arrow is pointing to 
a blue dot, so you may 

move on.

This arrow is not pointing 
to a blue dot, so you have 

to stop.

START

You play a Path from your 
hand onto this Path.

Since a player was 
on the old Path, they 
move onto the new 
Path’s arrowhead.



Druid: This turn, when you move off of a Path, discard it. If another player is on that Path, they are 
stuck on that spot in the Forest until a new Path is played on them.


Guide: The other player player either gives you +2 Draw and +1 Play, +3 Plays, or +1 Play and 
+2 Move.


Hermit: This makes you ignore all +Draw you get this turn. For example, if you play a Hermit, 
and then play a Hireling, you don’t get +1 Draw, but still get the +1 Play. You also will not draw 
the card at the end of your turn. If you play this twice in the same turn (with Squire), you still only 
draw 3 cards.


Hireling: A Path is adjacent to you if it is directly above, below, to the left, or to the right of your 
current Path. Diagonal spaces are not adjacent. If you choose a blank spot as your adjacent Path, or 
a starting/ending spot, or a River, nothing happens. You switch the Paths, but you don’t move any 
players on those Paths.


Leprechaun: Discard your hand and draw 5 cards. You do this even if you had 0 cards in hand. If 
you end up with -1 Play, you simply stop playing more cards.


Pixie: If you reveal a hand with Explorers in it, you get nothing else. If you reveal a hand of all 
Paths, or an empty hand, you draw 2 cards.


Squire: If you play an Explorer with this, you resolve it completely, then resolve it completely a 
second time. You cannot play other cards in-between (unless you play an Adventurer or a 2nd 
Squire). Playing Explorers through this way doesn’t use any +Plays. For example, you may start a 
turn by playing Squire on Pixie, get +2 Play, revealing a hand with no Explorers, drawing a Path 
and a Witch, and get +2 Play again, revealing a hand with Explorers in it, drawing 0 cards, and end 
with +5 Plays. If you use Squire on Squire, you may play another Explorer twice, then may play 
another Action Explorer; you do not play one Explorer four times.
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Witch: Repositioning a path like this is mandatory (if any can be moved). The Path you choose 
cannot have any players on them. The spot you move the Path onto cannot have a Path on it, and 
must stay as the same rotation. After moving that Path, the slot it was originally in will be blank. 
The Path and the blank spot you choose can be any distance apart. River spots are not blank spots.


Wizard: Normally, players get +2 Play and +2 Move each turn. This makes other players only start 
with +1 Play and +1 Move next turn. If a player is under multiple Wizards, they still start their turn 
with just +1 Play and +1 Move. They may still skip their whole turn to draw 2 cards. You may keep 
this out in play until your next turn, to remind the other players of this effect.
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